Customer engagement group

We’re creating our future business plans in preparation for the next regulatory price control starting in 2021. The Customer Engagement Group (CEG) has been set up to challenge us as we shape these plans.

The group is chaired by Maxine Frerk, who brings with her a wealth of experience from her 15 years at Ofgem. Most recently, Maxine was a member of Ofgem’s executive board, responsible for all aspects of regulation of the gas and electricity distribution networks. To reflect the different needs and perspectives of local stakeholders in both our network areas, we’ve also appointed a deputy chair for each region.

Over the course of the RIIO-GD2 business planning process we have developed our Plan in response to feedback and challenge from customers, stakeholders and our CEG.

Our CEG has reviewed our Plan and the full details of their assessment can be found in the final CEG report below.

Customer Engagement Group - Maxine Frerk

Maxine Frerk

Maxine is the Chair of our CEG group and is an experienced regulatory and consumer expert in the energy sector.

Customer Engagement Group - Claire Whyley

Claire Whyley

Claire is our Deputy Chair in the south of England and a professional researcher and policy analyst

Customer Engagement Group - Lucy McTernan

Lucy McTernan

Lucy is the Deputy Chair in Scotland and has a career in the Scottish voluntary sector spanning 25 years.

Our chairs are joined by a range of stakeholder experts from across Scotland and the south of England, reflecting specialisms such as customer research, business users, future consumers and vulnerable customers. Together, the group will ensure that we capture and act on the views of a range of customer and stakeholder groups in developing our future business plans.


Jamie Stewart

Jamie is a member of our CEG and works as a Energy Policy Manager at Citizens Advice Scotland.

Customer Engagement Group - Ben Knight

Ben Knight

Ben is a member of our CEG and a specialist in public consultation and research for utilities and regulators.

Customer Engagement Group - Joel Atherton

Joel Atherton

Joel is a member of our CEG and a senior Policy Researcher in Citizens Advice’s Energy Networks and Systems team.

Customer Engagement Group - Laura Brinker

Laura Brinker

Laura is a member of our CEG and a UKERC-funded PhD student at the Environmental Change Institute at Oxford University.

Customer Engagement Group - Ian McCluskey

Ian McCluskey

Ian is a member of our CEG and is Head of Technical Services at IGEM and Director of the Gas Industry Safety Group.

Customer Engagement Group - Ragne Low

Ragne Low

Ragne is a member of our CEG and is Principal Knowledge Exchange Fellow at the Centre for Energy Policy, University of Strathclyde.

Customer Engagement Group - Mike Gregory

Mike Gregory

Mike is a member of our CEG and Director of Avocado, Charlwood and active member of the Federation of Small Businesses.

Customer Engagement Group - Rosie McGlynn

Rosie McGlynn

Rosie is a member of our CEG and the Founder of Mentone Energy Consultancy.

Customer Engagement Group - Eddie Lafferty

Eddie Lafferty

Eddie is a member of our CEG and is a Director at Lafferty Associates

Syed Ahmed

Syed is a member of our CEG and is Director of Energy for London, an independent think tank

David Hinton

David Hinton

David is a member of our customer engagement group and Asset and Regulation Director, South East Water

Shona Cargill

Shona Cargill

Shona is a member of our customer engagement group and works at Resource Efficient Solutions

Norman Kerr

Norman is a member of our CEG and is Director of Energy Action Scotland (ENA)

Customer Engagement Group - Ben Hudson

Ben Hudson

Ben is a member of the CEG and Programme Coordinator, LSx

    Our website uses cookies, mainly from 3rd party services. Define your Privacy Preferences and/or agree to our use of cookies.